Roasted Beet & Carrot Salad

My first post! How exciting

My name is Brenna and I am a true foodie through and through. I RARELY meet a food I don’t like (starfruit….still don’t understand that one) and I’m always up for trying new foods, new preparations, and definitely new restaurants. I love playing with different flavor combinations and giving classic comfort foods a healthy twist. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy the odd hot dog, oreo milkshake or deep-fried MARS Bar at the Stampede (oh yes), but I do prefer to eat as clean as possible and create healthy and delicious meals that don’t leave you feeling guilty and weighed down.

For my SheBettie debut I thought I would highlight one of my favorite ingredients…the gorgeous beet.

beets1

I gotta say that I am one of the beets biggest fans. I’ll take my beets any way I can get them; raw, pickled, roasted, fried, juiced…yellow, red, orange… doesn’t matter. These veggies can stand alone roasted with a simple dash of EVOO and some salt n’ pepper, or you can add them as a component to some more complex dishes. Not only are these lovely root veggies incredibly versatile and delicious, but they are packed with nutrients and actually help in detoxifying the liver!

Who knew?!

So I know it’s technically “Spring” now and some people may say this salad is a fairly wintery dish, but with the recent snowfall last week and more white stuff in the forecast for this week… I just feel like some roasted root vegetables …so sue me!

This roasted beet and carrot salad is delish and basically came about because I was trying to use up some extra veggies after my recent juice cleanse (that’s a post for another time). It is incredibly simple and although it doesn’t have any meat in it, trust me it will fill you right up!

Also feel free to play around with the ingredients in this salad such as the cheese and greens. I used spinach because I had A LOT on hand, but mixed greens or arugula would also be lovely compliments. I’m also a goat cheese junkie, but feta or blue cheese would be fantastic as well.

I hope you enjoy it!

Xox Brenna

P.S. – I would recommend that when handling beets you should definitely wear an apron and perhaps some gloves. I chose to forego the latter protection and this happened….

beet hand

Don’t do it!

 

The Recipe: Roasted Beet and Carrot Salad

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

4 beets, peeled and cut into 1” cubes
10 carrots, washed and cut vertically
3 cups spinach
1 cup chickpeas
goat cheese to taste
Balsamic dressing (recipe below)

Place prepared carrots and beets on a baking sheet covered with parchment paper. Drizzle vegetables with olive oil and toss till all veggies are covered lightly in oil. Sprinkle with sea salt and pepper. Toss. Bake in oven for 40-45 minutes. Remove, allow to cool. Place greens on a platter. Top with chickpeas, roasted beets and carrots, and goat cheese. Dress lightly and toss.

Dressing:

1/3 cup olive oil
3 T balsamic vinegar
Juice from ½ a lemon
1 tbsp grainy mustard
½ tsp salt
½ tsp black pepper

Combine ingredients and whisk it up!

2 thoughts on “Roasted Beet & Carrot Salad

Leave a Reply

