How have I never eaten here before?

Going out for breakfast is probably one of my top 3 favorite activities. I love it! Today I got a bit of a late start on the day today (I blame birthday celebrations for our Betty Amanda), and as most know trying to get breakfast in our fair city is like playing battleship – veeeeery strategic. Most places don’t take reservations so you need to go into breakfast here with a solid game plan, how long are you willing to wait? How far are you willing to walk/drive? How many people do you expect to eat with? (larger numbers are tough) and so on and so forth. I have a couple of places that I can’t get enough of , the problem is the secret on these places seems to be out and the wait times can creep up to an hour in no time. On days like today, when I wake up late these little gems automatically get scratched from the list and I have to be a little bit more creative with my options. I was so hungry but couldn’t make up my mind so we just started driving west and then it dawned on me what about Cassis Bistro, that little French spot off Crowchild? My initial concern was, will they seat us if I’m wearing a sweater and lulu’s? It sounds a bit too fancy for my current attire. My indecisiveness wearing on my boyfriend and our options dwindling we agree to chance it.

We walk in and are quickly greeted, her kindness eases my mind on the terrible outfit choice. I was excited not to be turned away, the place was oozing of culture and French charm. Thankfully we are seated within minutes, order our coffees and try to decide what to eat. I had my heart set on eggs bennies and when I didn’t see them on the menu I was a little disappointed. That feeling of disappointment quickly subsided though, when our food started to arrive. We ordered the fresh baguette with jam, Croque Madame, and the Omelette du Jour. I have never ever in my life had a Croque Madame like this, so delicious! It definitely is not the healthiest option but oh my, the flavor. Cheesy deliciousness and the bread still had a bit of crunch to it. I will go back to Cassis for that sandwich alone. We substituted the Soup du Jour for our side; today’s soup was Tomato served with a cheesy crustini on top. This soup was so creamy with the right tartness to it.

Today’s omelette was spinach and mushroom, served with sautéed potatoes and side mixed green salad. I was happy to discover the omelette was made with brie cheese. This large three egg omelette was cheesy deliciousness.

Despite being quite full when asked if we were interested in dessert my stomach spoke for me in saying, of course. We ended up getting the chocolate cake with caramel ice cream. I knew we didn’t need it, and that it would probably result in an afternoon nap but I couldn’t resist. As soon as it arrived though I was happy with the decision, who can resist a warm chocolate cake, need I say more?

cassis2

I loved the atmosphere here. Small, but doesn’t make you feel crowded. The décor had a bit of a French influence, with a little local or sustainable flare. People all around were relaxed and most enjoying a glass of wine while they waited for their food immersed in conversation. It was nice to see people actually enjoying one another’s company and not playing on their iPhones. The table beside us was speaking French the entire time and I couldn’t help but ease drop from time to time to see what they were saying. Our waiter a transplant from France, sported the perfect French accent I wanted to break out my best choppy French to talk with him but was a little too nervous, the best I could conjure up was “Merci, bon après-midi”. I can’t wait to go back, I am a sucker for delicious food made with fresh ingredients. My only regret, not taking more pictures.

casis1

Ps: For those who can’t read French, “Il” means Boy. A vital tidbit of information for         those that require the restroom. I received a nervous text message from my perplexed boyfriend who would have guessed wrong had I not intervened. Sometimes, those are the breaks.

AmysSignature

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

