For the love of: Mascara

As I was putting this post together I constantly kept thinking how weird it is that we paint eyelashes in black most days of the week?
With makeup being a new hobby, I’m always curious how high end compares to makeup from the drug store. I love browsing Sephora and talking to the girls there…mainly so I can geek out about products. I wanted to see if any high end mascara could top my favorite $12 L’Oreal Telescopic.
So I conducted the ultimate experiment and used my face to demonstrate.

First up: Lancome Hypnose Drama mascara $32
image
In doing my extensive research (I asked 3 Sephora employees?) I discovered this mascara has been Lancome’s best seller for many years. This is specific for creating and building volume in the lashes. Lemme say, it can definitely build volume…but it is not user friendly: Exhibit A:

image
Maybe I just suck at putting on mascara (c’est possible)? It was tough to use I got a nice little clump I had to brush through with another wand and it got all over my eyelid.
Verdict? I returned it. I don’t need stumpy, clumpy lashes.

Next contender: Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara $31
This was the other suggestion that I not only heard from the Sephora crew, but have been seeing it in YouTube tutorials lately. And who doesn’t like a racy name? I was intrigued.
Exhibit B:
image
THE CLAIM IS TRUE! Man, I love this mascara!! User-friendly and it makes my lashes truly feathery, full and gives them length. The first photo is when I applied just ONE application and the last photo is putting on the absurd amount I prefer.

I hope you found this somewhat informative and if you have a favourite mascara you can’t live without…let me know!
LOVE xo
image

3 thoughts on “For the love of: Mascara

  1. Due to the fact my mom cut my eye-lashes as a child hoping they would grow long and pretty like yours, but DID NOT GROW BACK! (True story) – It is impossible to find a) a small enough brush that can get in there with my stubs that are lashes, b) a formula that does not clump, and c) does not make my eyelashes fall off when I remove it.(I already have so little to work with). #asiangirlprobs

  2. Great post Amanda! Keep them coming. Would love if you could do one on hair dryers! I am desperately in need of a new one and not sure if I really need to fork out the big bucks or if a mid range one would be good.

Leave a Reply

