Moti-whaaaa

Motivation ConceptOk I have a confession… I’ve been straight up slacking in the training department this spring. Normally by now, I’d have quite a few kilometers under my belt and would be feeling ok going into race season. That is not the case this year. Don’t worry… I got a tone of excuses; “it’s been a long winter”, “too cold”, “I was on holidays”, yadda yadda the list goes on but at the end of the day I think it all comes down to me being straight up lazy with a little fear mixed in to boot. Fear of not being able to complete a strong swim in my first Tri or worse having a panic attack mid swim, but that’s for another post.

The reality of this laziness just hit me over the long weekend, when I skipped swimming in favor of a local pubs 1st birthday bash (whoops) or when I cut my run short not because of the rain or because I was tired but because I didn’t feel like going any further and turned around to head home. Just rereading that makes me feel so guilty.

I don’t think I would be freaking out as much at this revelation if I didn’t have my kickoff race coming up in 2 weeks! This is the race I usually attempt a new PB, this year’s goal however is merely to finish ‘strong’, I’ll defer the PB goal to my next half in August (gulp).

I don’t know about the rest of you, but there are times that I get addicted to whatever sport I seem to be crushing on. It’s almost to the point of that’s all I want to do only to burn myself and zap the fun right out of the activity I once loved; or I start realizing my goals and start to put so much pressure on myself that I zap the fun right out of it. Where’s the balance? Well hopefully this year I can find that allusive balance that so many others seem to have. I plan on training or working out with friends of varying fitness levels to keep some of the fun in these activities and have delegated an accountability buddy to kick my butt into gear when I start making lame excuses.

Anyone else have trouble maintaining motivation from time to time? How do you get back on track?run

Happy training!
AmysSignature

 

Leave a Reply

