Wanderlust

Wanderlust: A strong desire for or impulse to wander or travel and explore the world; to discover one’s very existence.

20bef448cc9c944bac22d6d4e90637ad

Those that know me know travel is one of the most important things in my life. Whether it is a weekend getaway or a backpacking adventure half way around the world – I live to plan trips! Beyond visiting other places, one of my life long dreams is to live abroad. AND.NOW.IT.IS.HAPPENING.

Yes, it’s true! I have recently been offered a job in la belle Paris and I moving there in September. Of course, I am delighted to live in the land of croissants, berets and macaroons, but as I get closer to the departure date…certain realities are starting to set in.

Will I make friends? Is this a mistake? Do I even like French people? Is this the right decision for me and my fiancé? WHAT IF I GET FAT FROM EATING TOO MUCH CHEESE? Anxiety attacks are happening left, right and centre.

Everyone tells me this is normal. However, the optimist in me wants to soak up every little bit of this adventure. So while I go through this experience, I have made a few promises to myself:

Remember that intuition is key: All of the best decisions in my life have not necessarily been rational. Follow your gut and everything will fall into place. Trust the process.
Remain grateful: Every experience I have, good or bad, makes me a stronger person. Love and cherish your support system – always, always, always.
YOLO: Yes, I know this term is cheesy and overused but I think the message is great. You owe it to yourself to respond to any call that excites your spirit. You. Only. Live. Once.

And, to conclude, I will share some of the best advice I received from my fellow shebetties: If it is both terrifying and amazing, then you should definitely pursue it. Indeed.

I will keep you posted on this adventure of mine. Stay inspired, my friends!

xo Erin

2 thoughts on “Wanderlust

Leave a Reply

