The Red Lip

The red lip is perfect any time of the year. In summer, bold lips are the easiest way to take your daytime look into night. The problem is that they can be messy!! You don’t want to be checking your lipstick every five minutes, which is why I normally stay far away from it when going on a date, or out for a work event. Usually at those types of events no one is going to tell you you have red teeth or that your red lips match your now red chin.  I’ve also found lipstick on the top of my forehead? Who knows..

I have tried many different techniques in order to avoid such scenarios best I can and thought I’d share what I’ve learned.

For these lips, I am really into a matte finish and love this red hue on my olive skin type, I’m using Kate Moss Rimmel Matte lipstick in ‘111’ and the waterproof Sephora retractable lip liner in ‘Red’.

Find it here: http://www.walmart.com/ip/Rimmel-Lasting-Finish-by-Kate-Matte-Collection-Lipstick-111/23848212 and http://www.sephora.com/retractable-waterproof-lip-liner-P257801?skuId=1324920

Step 1: Lipliner is insanely important for bold lips! This particular one is waterproof and prevents the bleeding of the colour outside of your lips. I don’t have an obvious cupids bow, so I always draw an “x” to help a girl out.
Step 2: Outline your entire lip with the liner. It may look a bit funny, but try little strokes so you don’t completely draw it everywhere. Another thing you can do is take your liner outside your lip line a little bit to create a poutier pout (technical term…).
Step 3: Important step! Fill in most of your lips with the lip liner since this is a great base for your lipstick. Then put on your first coat of lipstick.
**TRICK TIME: take a tissue and blot your lips now. This will increase the wear of your red lips a lot longer!!

Step 4: Add your top coat and voila!

The other red I love:
MAC ‘Red’ Satin Finish
http://www.maccosmetics.com/product/shaded/168/310/Products/Lips/Lipstick/Lipstick/index.tmpl

Hope you enjoyed and since I’m now a Sephora “VIB” member I may start posting more reviews on products or tips on what products are worth putting into your collection.
LOVE
xox

2 thoughts on “The Red Lip

  1. Great post! Who doesn’t like a red lip? I love how you’ve drawn an x for your cupids bow, I’ll have to try it since I haven’t got much of one either! I love the Kate Moss 111 lipstick too!

Leave a Reply

