Oh what a morning… K-100 race recap

K-100This past Saturday I raced K-100, which has to be one of my favorite races. It is a 100-mile relay consisting of 10 legs between Longview and Kananaskis. I think one of the reasons I have so much fun is because the race allows support vehicles for many of legs and the energy they provide is infectious.

This year my leg got off to a rocky start to say the least, this was my second time racing Leg-1 so you think I would have a few things down for my 6 a.m. start (yes, you read correctly 6 a.m. start) but you’d be incorrect. I thought I was a rock star the night before, set not one but two alarms; went to bed early, and had my stuff relatively organized for the morning. What I failed to do however was ensure those two alarms were set for the correct time. The alarm went off at 4:45 a.m., and I was pumped and couldn’t wait to hit the road. I checked my phone, returned a couple text messages and then it hit me… Shit, it’s 4:45 a.m. NOT 3:45 a.m. and I needed to haul ass in order to make Longview in time for the start. I brushed my teeth, grabbed my pile of race gear and hit the road.

Realizing I didn’t eat breakfast but conscious of the time, I made a decision to stop at McDonald’s for an Egg McMuffin and a coffee, not the best race fuel but better than nothing right?

Finally we make Longview, 10 minutes after the race started, I literally hop out of the car run to the check-in point grab my bib and book it to try and catch the pack. About 1-2km’s in I catch the first person, and am relieved to see the line of support vehicles ahead. One car in particular was dressed up and had the music pumping. Every time we’d pass one another I couldn’t help but smile.

By the 11th km the McMuffin was not agreeing with me in the least. I had two options, take my chances in the woods and risk a run in with a bear or do my business in my Lulu’s… I decided not to risk my Lulu’s and headed to the woods. Not wanting to lose any more time I pick up the pace to finish strong. Just before the 14km hill one of the other teams support vehicle that had been leapfrogging me for the majority of race offered me some water and a hi-five, talk about sportsmanship! I happily took the water and kept on trucking.

Overall despite my sloppy start and self-imposed obstacles I am pleased with how I finished my leg. Our team ironically named “we’ve got the runs” finished 57/180.

Here are some basic race tips so you don’t find yourself in a similar situation:
• Double and triple check your alarm
• Eat a nutrition breakfast
• Print directions and ensure you arrive with plenty of time before the race
• Hydrate, hydrate, hydrate

AmysSignature

Leave a Reply

