For the love of: Podcasts

I rack up about 2500km’s a month driving, which is a lot of time spent in my ‘mango tango’ vehicle.  I know most of you don’t have the same type of mileage, but summer usually brings a few roadtrips.  Whether you are with friends or had to do the drive alone, a podcast is an amazing way to pass the time.  I will admit it isn’t for everyone. However, I thought I’d share my top podcasts I listen to every week and you can give them a try the next time you want to kill some time!

1) This American Life – 60 mins

TAL This is one of the most popular podcasts on iTunes and for good reason. Every week the host Ira Glass presents a different theme of the week and brings stories on that theme (quoting from his tagline). That’s why I love it! I have been brought to tears, laughed, and said “this is a dumb episode”, but it’s always a podcast I like sharing with friends on long trips!

2) Freakonomics Radio – 30-45 mins

freakonomics If you have heard of Freakonomics the book or read any in their series, you know you will love this!  I find it so fascinating to learn about the “hidden side of everything” and have my perspective on things challenged. This is the type of podcast I can listen to over and over again and get something new out of every time.

3) Planet Money – 15-20 mins

 Want to feel smart? Want to pretend you have an opinion on random world issues? This one’s for you! I hesitated to post this one because I feel like I’m letting people in on my secret. For example, when the euro was tanking and causing huge issues in Europe, I became obsessed with episodes talking about countries like Greece and how crazy things were getting. I swear they present these issues in a very interesting and humorous way. Just check it out, like the episode titled “Why LeBron James is Underpaid”.

Enjoy!

xo

 

Leave a Reply

